Chakra Yoga

Yoga Poses to balance your Chakras, your body’s Energy Centres


There are seven major Chakras in the body. Chakra literally means “spinning wheel”. Often these energy centres become blocked by our unsupportive thoughts, emotions and life experiences.

A balanced yoga practice, sequenced with opening poses, mid and closing poses along with meditation practice and pranayama (breathing) forms the basis to balance our Chakras and achieve our full mental, emotional & physical potential both on and off our mats.

You surely have heard me mention this in our yoga classes. My personal favourite being the heart chakra, which when open & balanced, allows for a free flow of unconditional love & inner wisdom.

It is important though, for all chakras to function harmoniously together.

Here is a brief description of each chakra and its supporting yoga poses. When practicing, listen to your body’s signals, honour your physical limitations and practice with awareness. Most of all have fun!


First Chakra – Muladhara – Root Chakra

Location: Base of the Spine

Relates to/Governs: Basic Needs, Safety, Security, Finances, Willpower & Determination

Element: Earth

Colour: Red

Poses: Any standing poses such as Tadasana (mountain) and Virabhadrasana 1 & 2 (warrior 1 & 2) to ground & stabilise. Focus on planting your feet firmly into the ground and feel steady & stable.


Second Chakra – Svadhistana – Sacral Chakra

Location: Sexual Organs

Relates to/Governs: Desire, Pleasures, Joy, Emotions, Creativity, Sexuality, Sensuality

Element: Water

Colour: Orange

Poses: Hip opening poses such as Baddha Konasana (seated bound angle), Eka Pada Rajakapotasana (one legged pigeon), Gomukhasana (cow face) Parivrtta Trikonasana (revolved triangle).


Third Chakra – Manipura – Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: Solar Plexus, Digestive System

Relates to/Governs: Power, Control, Confidence, Self Esteem, Vitality, Your Inner Fire

Element: Fire

Colour: Yellow

Poses: Any abdominal poses such as Navasana (boat), any twists such as Ardha Matsyendrasana (half seated spinal twist), and any heat building poses such as Sun Salutations will help balance your Energy Chakra.


Fourth Chakra – Anahata – Heart Chakra

Location: Heart Centre Behind Sternum

Relates to/Governs: Love of Self & Others, Relationships, Compassion, Passion

Element: Air

Colour: Green

Poses: Any backbends such as Bhujangasana (cobra), Salabhasana (locust), Matsyasana (fish), Dhanurasana (bow) and full Urdhva Dhanurasana (upward facing bow) will open your heart centre.


Fifth Chakra – Vishuddha – Throat Chakra

Location: Throat

Relates to/Governs: Communication, Expression, Expansion, Knowledge

Element: Sound, Ether

Colour: Light Blue

Poses: Any poses that stimulate and stretch the front and back of your throat such as Salamba Sarvangasana (supported shoulder stand), Halasana (plow), Matsyasana (fish), Setu Bandha Sarvangasana (bridge), Simhasana (lion). Also, any head movements like full flexion, extension and rotation of the head, as well as ear to shoulder and ear to armpit neck stretches will balance your Communication Centre.


Sixth Chakra – Anja – Third Eye Chakra

Location: Between Eyebrows

Relates to/Governs: Intuition, Perception, Inspiration, Vision

Element: Light

Colour: Indigo, Dark Blue

Poses: Any forward bends that allow your forehead to rest, such as Balasana (child), any seated forward bends with a block or your hands placed under your forehead. Also, any poses that are gaze focused such as Garudasana (eagle). Meditations and visualizations also balance your Intuition Chakra.


Seventh Chakra – Sahasrara – Crown Chakra

Location: Crown of the Head

Relates to/Governs: Consciousness, Connection to Self and Higher Self or the Divine

Element: Space

Colour: Purple, or White

Poses: Poses that place pressure onto the crown of the head such as Salamba Sirsasana (supported headstand) or Tripod Headstand, or simply the setup for headstand and tripod. Any form of meditation will also allow your Crown Chakra to balance.



I trust you have gained valuable insight into the vast topic of energy healing, and have found some inspiration for your own home-yoga practice. This is by no means a complete description of this subject.

Please share with me how this new knowledge has affected your practice and how helpful you have found the article. Do you have anything to add? I’d love to hear from you. Thank you.